ArchivesJune 2010PPI to award outstanding community newspapers

PPI to award outstanding community newspapers


- Advertisment -spot_img

In celebration of 14 years of excellence in community journalism, the Civic Journalism Community Press Awards will once again pay tribute to outstanding regional publications that have shown exemplary work in editing, editorial, science and environment reporting, business and economic reporting, and photojournalism in 2009. {{more}}

The annual awards program will be the highlight of the Philippine Press Institute’s 14th National Press Forum “Assessing the 2010 Automated Elections” and Annual Membership Meeting from June 23 to 25 at the Diamond Hotel Philippines. This is the annual gathering of publishers and editors of PPI member-publications who will discuss media issues and industry concerns.

Since 2005, when the Konrad Adenauer Foundation ended its support, the awards program has been undertaken solely by the PPI. In 2008, The Coca-Cola Export Corporation (TCCEC) began its support to the awards with Civic Journalism as the framework. This is in line with the training programs on Civic Journalism which, among other things, seek to promote journalism as a medium of community feedback and participation.

The Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication (AIJC) manages and oversees the awards program.

The nominees are:

(Daily Category) Sun.Star Pampanga in City of San Fernando, Punto! Central Luzon in City of San Fernando, Sun.Star Cebu in Cebu City, Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro in Cagayan de Oro City, Sun.Star Davao in Davao City, The Freeman in Cebu City, Cebu Daily News in Cebu City and Mindanao Times in Davao City.

(Weekly Category) Baguio Midland Courier in Baguio City, MetroPost in Dumaguete City, Sun.Star (Davao) Weekend in Davao City, The Ilocos Times in Laoag City, and The Bohol Chronicle in Tagbilaran City. 
This year’s board of judges is composed of: Augusto B. Villanueva of the Journal Group of Publications as chairman, Joy C. delos Reyes of Malaya, Luz Rimban of the University of the Philippines’ Department of Journalism, Rolando A. Inciong of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity and Evelyn M. del Rosario of the Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company.
The cash prizes for the winners are yearly provided by Malaya, Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Philippine Star, BusinessWorld, Journal Group of Publications, and Manila Standard Today. Each winner will also receive a trophy.

This year’s guest of honor and keynote speaker is Atty. Jose Midas P. Marquez, Court Administrator and Spokesperson of the Supreme Court of the Philippines. Atty. Marquez will speak about freedom in the new judiciary environment.

Latest news

IPHO notes COVID rise

    The Provincial Health Office (PHO) of Negros Oriental is providing coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) rapid antigen test (RAT) kits...

Teves: I won’t run away

    Former Negros Oriental governor Pryde Henry Teves has assured the public that he will face the Terrorism charges filed...

Test case for NIR

    The Provincial Health Office of Negros Oriental has noted an upsurge in COVID 19 and is giving out test...

Hog raisers get aid

    Some 4,000 swine farmers in Negros Oriental who were affected by the African swine fever (ASF) have benefited from...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

4 killed in collision

    Four siblings were killed early Saturday morning after their car crashed onto an oncoming cement mixer truck at the...

Caritas: help Kanlaon victims

    The official of the humanitarian arm of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) appealed to the faithful...

Must read

IPHO notes COVID rise

    The Provincial Health Office (PHO) of Negros Oriental is...

Teves: I won’t run away

    Former Negros Oriental governor Pryde Henry Teves has assured...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you